CAPTAIN UNDERPANTS: THE FIRST EPIC MOVIE

I'm just going to get this out there, these books were my childhood. I'd read them all from back to front 50 times a day and I was nervously excited for this movie.

For those who don't know (what was your childhood?)- Captain Underpants is the story of George (Kevin Hart) and Harold (Thomas Middleditch) two prankster fourth graders with a special talent for potty humour. They spend their days playing gags on other students and their nights writing comic books in their tree house. Their best creation? Captain Underpants!

The first epic movie kicks off when George and Harold destroy the school science fair, their principal Mr. Krupp (Ed Helms) has had enough and threatens to do the worst thing imaginable… put the two in separate classes. Just before Krupp signs on the bottom line separating the the two for the rest of their lives, they use their 3D Hypno Ring and turn him into Captain Underpants the worlds greatest hero. Of course with every hero, there must be a villain – Professor Poopypants (Nick Kroll) who has an evil plot to take away laughter from the world.

Written by Nicholas Stoller this movie is everything it needs to be! A perfect potty humor filled kids movie with a tight plot that is just long enough for you not to get sick of the bright colours and stupid laughs like most kids movies. The director David Soren does a great job of making this movie perfect for kids and their family members; which is becoming rarer and rarer these days and they've also added a musical twist on the franchise which pays off.

The voice cast doing a surprisingly good job – Kevin Hart and Thomas Middleditch shine as George and Harold and bring a lot of humor here and capture the heart of a couple of 8 year olds. Ed Helms wouldn't of been my first choice for Captain Underpants and he probably still isn't but honestly, I don't have another choice – so I'll take it. The only downfall for me in this entire movie; Nick Kroll as Professor Poopypants, yes he was funny but I just couldn't listen to him for too long I've got somewhat of Kroll fatigue – he was the worst part of Sausage Party and unfortunately he does the same thing here, I can't help but think he just wants to go to big in the voice booth.

The animation is straight from the books, INCLUDING A FLIP-O-RAMA SCENE – which made me go a tiny bit glossy eyed seeing this on screen. It's probably Dreamworks' finest animation in years in my opinion and a lot of this is down to the design.

Overall I really enjoyed this movie and if I was about 5 years younger, I'd of liked it even more it'll be quite draining for the older folks but for those young at heart this movie will fill that space missing this summer with its lessons about friendship and potty humour it's my favourite animated movie of the year so far.

I really really hope we get a sequel.

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

